About Us
Frequent Questions
For Veterans
Social Security
Grief Support

Shelton Funeral Home Inc
2105 Beltline Road
Decatur, Alabama 35601
Tel: 256.353.1620

Our facility is wheelchair accessible

Current Obituaries



Funeral Service for Larry Ronald Burks, age 83, of Decatur, will be Monday, February 9, 2015, 2:00 p.m. at Shelton Funeral Home Chapel with Rev. Dr. Toby Mueller and Rev. Ragan Boling officiating.  The family will receive friends on Sunday, February 8, 2015, from 2:00 p.m. until 4:00 p.m. at the funeral home. Interment will be in Shady Grove United Methodist Church Cemetery, Toney.

Mr. Burks, who died Friday, February 6, 2015, at his residence, was born July 28, 1931, in Chapel Hill, TN, to William Hugh Burks and Alice Baxter Crowell Burks.  He was preceded in death by his parents, and two brothers, William Hugh Burks, Jr. and Thomas Brenton Burks. 

Mr. Burks was a Korean War Combat Veteran who served in Company A, 2nd Engineer Corps, with the rank of Sergeant.  He was decorated several times for valor, bravery, and hazardous duty in the line of fire.

Mr. Burks was an Educator who worked as a School Principal and Basketball Coach in both Alabama and Tennessee, and as a Teacher and Assistant Superintendent during his 40-year career.

He is survived by his wife of 58 years, Amy King Burks of Decatur; two daughters, Lisa Burks Berger (James) of Ft. Lauderdale, FL, and Jo Lynn Burks of Nashville, TN; one grandson, Clay Reed Berger; one granddaughter, Madison Leigh Berger; several nephews; three nieces; and several cousins.  

Pallbearers will be Tom Meier, Henry Huerkamp, Kay Stoudnour, Jim Cooper, Jackie Jones, Edsel Howard, G. H. Sanders, and Sammy Walker. Honorary pallbearers will be Vernon Brown, Earl Cook, Jim Little, Thomas Stogner, J.P. Thomas, Blake Tapscott, and Lucas Worley.  

In lieu of flowers, the family respectfully requests memorial donations be made to The Building Fund of St. Andrew Presbyterian Church (3310 Danville Rd., S.W., Decatur, AL 35603) or Hospice of the Valley (240 Johnston St., Decatur, AL 35601).

Frances Jean (Scott) Wallace Tue November 24, 2015
James M. Snowden Sun November 22, 2015
Fletcher Hill Wed November 18, 2015
Marianne McNeal Fri November 13, 2015
Sandra (Price) Hogue Sun November 08, 2015
Lynda (Harvel) Benfield Sat November 07, 2015
Mossie Faye (Carpenter) Bishop Fri November 06, 2015
Douglas Craig Cox Tue November 03, 2015
Carmen Lee (Abbott) Williams Mon November 02, 2015
Gary Don Garmany Sun November 01, 2015

Copyright © 2015 Shelton Funeral Home Inc. All Rights Reserved.    | Website by CFS |